Project Pumpkin Head

In high school I remember going on one of many band trips to an out of town football game. I liked the bus ride, I just didn’t like the comfort of the yellow hound. One specific conversation on the bus I overhead was from a guy who had this huge head. He was rather suspect most of the time. Why he stayed in band I do not know, maybe because he had nothing better to do.

Anyway, he had started to read this book about aliens. At this point in history is when the whole alien abduction thing was about to take off. The book – I can’t remember the name, but people talked about it a lot – was a compilation of stories from people who claimed to be abducted by aliens.

From what I overhead, this guy was saying that the author’s point of view was these had to be real because these people had never spoken with each other or had any contact of any kind.

Many years have passed since that ease dropped conversation. And now everyone has a story about aliens and abduction and the like. I, however, still think about the premise that author brought forth long ago.

I wondered the other day if we should believe these people really were telling the truth about being abducted by aliens with a barrage and battery of scientific experiments being thrust upon them.

Or was this something else that was indicative or society. You see, I believe we want to believe someone or something is in control. When the vacuum of control is in effect we feel like we’re careening down the road with no harness, seatbelt of safety net. Surely if an extraterrestrial life form can maneuver his Toyota flying saucer to us and do experiments on us, then we should not fear.

I believe we want to believe in something bigger and larger than ourselves, but we don’t want to believe in God. I think some of us want to believe in God, but don’t want to believe what he has to say. And in a way, isn’t that just a little alien in itself?

14 Responses to “Project Pumpkin Head”

  1. Spinning Girl Says:

    Was it that book Communion by Whitley Strieber? becasue that scared the crap out of me! Later they made a movie out of it starring Christopher Walken. It felt real enough!

    I think people are just striving to understand the Great Unknowable, whatever form that takes for them.

  2. JLee Says:

    My husband and I have many discussions about aliens (he believes in them) I think aliens could be just another life form, such as an angel or demon. Just different names perhaps?

  3. Phats Says:

    HAHAHA sorry I was just laughing at you being a band geek!! What did you play?

    Interesting discussion, even with pumpkin head.

    We take the short bus to tennis matches!

  4. Sunshine Says:

    This post is too deep for my brain this morning….leave it up long enough and I may be able to form some sort of succinct answer.
    You drinking the Koolaid again?

  5. lizgwiz Says:

    I gotta say, I love any post that begins with a reference to high school band trips. Memories…

  6. Edge Says:

    Spinning Girl: Yes, it was Communion. I think you’re right, people really are looking for something solid to believe in.

    JLee: I don’t know, maybe so on the angels or demons. I personally don’t think they are real, but we’ve been wrong about a lot of things.

    Phats: I think you take the short bus everywhere! LOLOLOLOLOL

    Sunshine: No Koolaid. You need to wake up.

    Lizgwiz: Yes, I have a million band stories.

    ~Jef

  7. Lee Ann Says:

    hmmmm…thinking!

  8. Lee Ann Says:

    hmmmm…thinking!

  9. td3k Says:

    A deep discussion no matter what time of day. Personally, I prefer to believe in facts and provable evidence. I feel no compunction to believe in something that cannot be demonstrated to be real or factual. Until somebody actually captures an alien, demon or angel, I’ll probably tend to keep these entities in the fictional column of my opinions.

  10. Sunshine Says:

    This post is still hurting my brain.
    So, I offer up the million dollar response as seen a couple weeks ago on a bumper sticker. Because, you know, if it’s on a bumper sticker, it must be true!
    Actually, all kidding aside, I just really liked the bumper sticker and the simple philosophy behind it:

    GOD IS TOO BIG TO FIT INSIDE ONE RELIGION.

    And that’s all I have to say about that.

  11. Deals On Wheels Says:

    So, I work in this Texas history museum that was built in the 1930’s. Everything in the building is somehow symbolic to Texas. Anyway, one room has these light fixtures hanging from the ceiling. They look like flying saucers – and were designed to look that way on purpose. Apparently, at the time, people thought it was only a matter of time before we visited other worlds or other worlds visited us. All this was years before Roswell, the Twilight Zone or the X-Files. I find it fascinating.

  12. Cinderella Says:

    I agree, I think we all want to believe in something greater but we do not want to believe in the consequences of our actions.

    When we believe in something bigger than ourselves, than we are giving control of our lives, and what we do to something eles. It’s easier to believe in aliens b/c who cares? But to believe in God is challenging.

    I think there is a lot we do not know, but maybe that’s best.

  13. Edge Says:

    Lee Ann: Thanks thanks thanks thanks

    TD3K: I would agree, but how do you measure and quantify love? It exists, but I do not want to have love that is either measurable or quantifiable.

    Sunshine: That’s a good bumper sticker. Religion is man’s way to get to God. Jesus is God’s way to get to man.

    Deals: I’m still waiting on my flying car. Got one of those at the museum!?!?!

    Cinderella: I don’t think I could have said it better.

    ~Jef

  14. td3k Says:

    Love is only an emotion – not a physical object. It is measured in how we act and how we treat others and it is quantifiable in varying degrees from friendship to the “marrying kind”. Besides, I thought we were talking about “aliens”. LOL.

Leave a comment