What’s on Jef’s Cell Phone and On Jef’s Mind 03-24-2008

Cravings

I need to get to Walgreen’s and get some reduced price Easter candy. It’s probably already gone. I’ve been wanting some whoppers. I never want whoppers. Maybe I’m pregnant.

This morning besides whoppers I want pizza. Pizza all the time. I had a frozen one for breakfast. It’s time for a lunchable pizza.

Crap! Where does this craving stuff come from? Maybe I’m going to have a period.

Easter

Wednesday at band rehearsal I told a funny and heard a couple more. I was asking what I was supposed to wear for Good Friday service. And I said, "So I don’t need to wear a t-shirt that says, ‘The Jews did it!’?"

That got a few laughs. The piano player said her husband said, "So when we eat ham at Easter it’s like we’re thumbing our noses at the Jews and Muslims."

Saturday, M and I picked up some Indian food from the new Indian, Pak, Halal place down the street. ( See picture below ). I got Lamb Sagwala which is called something else in Muslim Indian food. How did I know it was Muslim? They didn’t serve pork … that and all the women were wearing their Muslim bonnets.

So we take the food home and A asks me what I had and I say, "Lamb … that was slain."

Just before service the choir and the band are all crowded together backstage. The music minister had just thrown up twice. Dude … what a crappy day to be sick and be a minister … Easter Sunday …sorry Resurrection Sunday.

We’re standing back there and the bass player says in this voice like someone’s mother, " If Jesus can come back from the dead on Easter Sunday, you can get your lazy self out of bed and make it to church!"

Good times

Cell Phone

Image002

Rodeo Day for little a at pre-school. I’m digging the rain boots. Her shirt says, "Cowgirl in Training."

Image003

This is at a birthday party little a and I went to at a huge pizza place. This was the room playing Andy Griffith. That little kid is her soccer buddy E.J. She can spell his name. That purple thing is a cake shaped like a dinosaur. It’s made of … well … cake and rice crispy treats for the arms and stuff that’s curved. It really was a site! And good. Dinosaur tastes like chicken or birthday cake.

Image004

They finally finished the fountain at the big school. Nope, no photoshopping, the water is really purple. They died it for the dedication ceremony.

Image005

The Indian food place had Indian TV. I determined:

1. Indian women sing in a high shrill voice like a phaser about to implode.

2. The acting is bad.

3. The production quality is worse.

4. The subtitles are hilarious.

5. It was a rip off of The Sound Of Music.

I kept wanting to break out during the movie, "The hills are alive with the sound of slushy’s!"

4 Responses to “What’s on Jef’s Cell Phone and On Jef’s Mind 03-24-2008”

  1. terri Says:

    I wouldn’t worry about the cravings unless you start crying when your wife asks you what’s for dinner.

    I want to go to your church. It seems way more laid back than anything I’m used to. I probably couldn’t justify the drive though, so I’ll have to find one in my own neighborhood.

    I watched the real “Sound of Music” last night and asked my kids if they would perform in front of friends and family if I asked them. The only response I got was a bunch of dirty looks.

    (Little a is ADORABLE! Love the pink boots.)

  2. Beast1624 Says:

    I’ve been having the same problems with cravings lately, especially pizza. I got really tired of the same old Domino’s and P-Hut. Found a fantastic little Italian place here (Vito’s) that has sit down dining and carry out. Their New York style Pizza will make you stand up and say ‘Please sir, may I have some more!’

  3. Edge Says:

    Terri: (sob) Who’s crying! I’m not crying! LOL Ya, our first service starts at 8:30, do you think you can get here?

    Beast: Hey is that over on 183 and Esters? I think I used to eat there when I worked for “the city”.

    ~Jef

  4. Beast1624 Says:

    That’s the one.

Leave a comment